Constituency Labour Parties (CLPs) may nominate one leadership candidate. Labour Party members, affiliated trade union or socialist society supporters, and registered supporters are able to vote in leadership elections.

Leadership and Deputy Leadership election 2020

Following a ballot using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) method that ran from Monday 24 February 2020 to Thursday 2 April 2020:

Keir Starmer with 56.2% of votes cast was elected Leader of the Labour Party.
Angela Rayner with 52.6% of votes cast after round 3 of the ballot was elected Deputy Leader of the Labour Party.

The full results of these elections can be found here

Past Labour Party Leadership Election Results

The following result was announced on Saturday 24 September 2016:

  1. Jeremy Corbyn (MP for Islington North): 168,216 (full party members), 84,918 (registered supporters), 60,075 (affiliated supporters) = 313,209 (61.8%) – ELECTED
  2. Owen Smith (MP for Pontypridd): 116,960 (full party members), 36,599 (registered supporters), 39,670 (affiliated supporters) = 193,229 (38.2%)
    Total votes: 506,438

A full list of Leaders and Deputy Leaders of the Labour Party since 1906 can be found here

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search